Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020

2 feb – 8 mar 2020 Opening: 1 feb 2020 19:00

The Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition is one of the most important open, censored exhibitions in Europe and has been held annually at Charlottenborg since 1857. It originated as an exhibition showing new works by Danish artists, but today includes participants from many countries. Over the years, the exhibition has presented works by great internationally renowned artists such as Alvar Aalto, Per Kirkeby, Olafur Eliasson, Superflex and many others. The exhibition is organised by Charlottenborg Fonden.

The exhibition allows a considerable number of artists to participate in a major international project and has over the years provided the first significant platform for many emerging artists, while also presenting important new pieces by more established figures.

This year 70 Danish and international artists and artist groups has been selected by the jury among the 736 applications. A total of 134 works are on display this year created by well-established artists, but also by emerging talents from Denmark and Europe as well as Israel, Russia and USA.

This year’s participants are:
Marie Agnild (DK), Selin Akin (TR) & Alexander Papakonstandinou (GR), Katja Angeli (DK), Shimon Attie (US), Bianca Barandun (CH), Anders Bendixen (DK), Stine Bidstrup (DK), BLUE TIT Production (Helle Pagter, Amia Miang & Pernille Koch) (DK), Silke Brandes (DK), Bue Bredsdorff (DK), Andreas Brunner (CH), Kasper Christiansen (DK), Valerie Collart (FR), Bjørn Colstrup (DK), Hilde Dramstad (NO), Frans Drewniak (DK), Ellen Dynebrink (SE), AnneMette Elmelund (DK), Signe Emdal (DK), Simone Fezer (DE), Lauge Groes (DK), Henriikka Harinen (FI), Dorthe Herup (DK), Liisa Hietanen (FI), Davide Hjort (IT), Erik Hjorth (DK), Annamarie Ho (US), Gunzi Holmström (FI), Mette Homar (DK), Hanna Hyy (FI), Maria Høyen (NO), Mads Max Ibenfeldt (DK), Noa Ironic (IL), Amalie Vöge Jensen (DK), Nellie Jonsson (SE), Silke Xenia Juul (DK), Nikki Jääskeläinen (FI), Jakob Jørgensen (DK), Kamilla Jørgensen (DK), Niklas Karlsson (SE), Malene Kastalje (DK), Jonna Kina (FI), Maria Koshenkova (RU), Rebecka Larsdotter (SE), Anton Lind (SE), Christina Maj Lundqvist (DK), Material Think Space (Kate Williams (US) & Louis Alderson-Bythell (UK)), Anne Mortensen (DK), Niels Østergaard Munk (DK), Isaac Nissen (DK), Anna Nyberg (SE), Karl Ejnar Nybo (DK), Annelie Grimwade Olofsson (SE), Christina Bruun Olsson (DK), Iida Pii (FI), François Réau (FR), Marie Retpen (DK) & Begitte Lynge Andersen (DK), Sixten Sandra (SE), Katherine Sankey (IE), Susanne Schwieter (DE), Henk Stallinga (NL), Trine Struwe (DK), Stine Stubdrup (DK), Charlotte Thorup (DK), Attilio Tono (IT), André Viking (DK), Austin Voll (US), Vic West (SE), Sky Lucy Young (DK), Heidi Øiseth (NO).

Furthermore, last year’s winner of the Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition Solo Award, Samaneh Roghani (IR), presents a solo exhibition with a new installation at the Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020.

The 2020 jury consists of Kirse Junge-Stevnsborg (Director, Malmö Art Museum), Morten Løbner Espersen (craftsman), Tina Maria Nielsen (visual artist), Trine Søndergaard (visual artist) and Trude Mardal (architect). With their artistic practice and background as well as their international experience the jury has not only selected the works for the Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020 but also nominated five artists to this year’s Solo Award and elected the Solo Award winner and the Talent Award winner, where the winners are announced at the opening night.

The nominees to this year’s Solo Award are: Andreas Brunner (CH), Signe Emdal (DK), Rebecka Larsdotter (SE), Anton Lind (SE) and Niels Østergaard Munk (DK).

Talk programme
During the Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020 visitors can meet some of the participating artists and hear about their artistic practice. All events are free. Further info about the events here.