Kunsthal Charlottenborg Biennale

Public Structures

23 jun – 23 jul 2023 Opening : 23 jun 2023 11:00

→ See the overview of works and locations across Denmark in week 27 and 28 here
→ Hear talk with curators Hans Ulrich Obrist and Jeppe Ugelvig here

Practical information:

19 – 26 June: Copenhagen Central Station
23 June – 23 July: Special exhibition by General Idea, Værnedamsvej 6, Copenhagen.
Opening hours Thursday-Friday 15-18 and Saturday 12-15
26 June – 23 July: Kunsthal Charlottenborg, in the courtyard
3 – 16 July 2023: All over Denmark
Free admission to the exhibition

What would artists advertise today? The 2023 edition of the Kunsthal Charlottenborg Biennale is an inquuiry into advertising space and its potential use for artists. The biennale activates avant-garde histories of alternative artistic distribution methods while focusing specifically on the visual economy of advertising, where value is perpetually constructed and circulated.

Kunsthal Charlottenborg Biennale is an international art exhibtion presented in streets, train stations and bus stops throughout almost all of Denmark. The biennale is held every other year with the express intention of bringing contemporary art out across the nation.

Participating artists in the Kunsthal Charlottenborg Biennale 2023:

Akeem Smith, Bless (Desiree Heiss & Ines Kaag), CATPC (Congolese Plantation Workers), Eric Andersen, AA Bronson + General Idea, Hans-Peter Feldmann, KAWS, Koo Jeong A, Luki von der Gracht, Maja Malou Lyse & Esben Weile Kjær, Martine Syms, Minerva Cuevas, Michael Rakowitz, Pippa Garner, Rasheed Araeen, Rosemarie Trockel, Serapis Maritime, Shuang Li, Sungsil Ryu, SUPERFLEX, Tromarama, Yinka Shonibare CBE, Yugoexport/Irena Haiduk.

The 2023 Kunsthal Charlottenborg Biennale will be curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist (b. 1968), who is director of the Serpentine Galleries in London, and Jeppe Ugelvig (b. 1993), a freelance curator whose credits include exhibitions in Beijing, Hong Kong, New York and Ramallah. In 2020, Ugelvig was also co-curator of the exhibition Witch Hunt at Kunsthal Charlottenborg.

The works featured in the exhibition are displayed on nationwide advertising panels, which means that most of the population will be able to experience the biennale. The event continues in the vein of Kunsthal Charlottenborg’s previous nationwide exhibitions Yoko Ono – Transmission (2017), It’s Urgent! (2019) and Poet Slash Artist (2021).

The Kunsthal Charlottenborg Biennale is produced in collaboration with AFA JCDecaux. Supported by The Augustinus Foundation, The Obel Family Foundation, and the Danish Arts Foundation.