MFA Degree Show 2016

3 jun – 7 aug 2016

Afgang 2016 – the MFA graduate show – presents the latest art from the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts at Kunsthal Charlottenborg. This annual exhibition by graduates from the Schools of Visual Arts at Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen presents bold artworks that get to grips with the grandiose galleries of Charlottenborg, infiltrate other art forms, and reflect on the role of art in the exhibition itself and the outside world.

Afgang 2016 presents the works of 34 young artists. They are exhibiting both within Charlottenborg’s elegant, sky lit halls and beyond, using the exterior of the building where the palace’s dilapidated balcony will be given a makeover and the courtyard, where there will be a monumental work created in collaboration with students from Holbæk Kunsthøjskole. Works will also be exhibited in the building’s foyer, bookshop and the academy’s historical Assembly Hall.

Bold works putting the palace on the line
The MFA graduate show Afgang 2016 includes works that range widely in expressive form, format and materials. You can experience a pop-musical performance that converts new economic theory into karaoke, and a work that consists of a systematic choreography developed using the strategies of modern dance. The exhibition also includes a vast work that recreates the life cycle of a tree, a monumental project in woven black wool, sculptural fantasies in white plaster, and cool candy sculptures. Afgang 2016 also presents new negotiations of painting with both hyperrealism and free strokes on a grand scale.

Tradition and innovation
The exhibition presents art created by young talent from Denmark’s oldest art academy, which opened in 1754 and continues a proud tradition of fostering artists of international stature. Former students include Olafur Eliasson, Ann Lislegaard, Jeppe Hein, Kirstine Roepstorff and Danh Vo.

The artists exhibiting in Afgang 2016 are:
Mattias Agerskov, Moa Alskog, Hannah Anbert, Magnus Andersen, Benedikte Bjerre, Rune Bosse, Ann Sophie von Bülow, Jonas Georg Christensen, Mathias Dyhr, Biba Fibiger, Anne Nora Fischer, Dina Friemuth, Matilde Westavik Gaustad, Una Gunnarsdottir, Esben Gyldenløve, Christine Overvad Hansen, Anders Hergum, Troels Nøhr Holmstrøm, Sofie Kondrup, Anne Kristin Kristiansen, Lucas Wichmann Melkane, Anna Moderato, Anne Sofie Nielsen, Mads Bech Nielsen, Nanna Anike Nikolajsen, Mateusz Nowak, Philip Pilekjær, Alexandra Reimann, Cecilie Skov, Martha Svihus, Rikard Thambert, Jonas Theis, Mathias Toubro, Tinne Zenner.

Afgang 2016 is produced in collaboration with the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts’ Schools of Visual Culture, and is curated by Rhea Dall and Mathias Kryger.

Social media hashtag: #afgang2016